National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)
The NATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ACCREDITATION COUNCIL (NAAC) is an autonomous body established in 1994 by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. It is an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India.

NAAC envisions to make quality the defining element of higher education in India through a combination of self and external quality evaluation, promotion and sustenance initiatives. Guided by its vision, the NAAC primarily assesses the quality of institutions of higher education that volunteer for the process, through an internationally accepted methodology.

For ease of reference, the following details are excerpted from NAAC Website.
Grades: Institutions are graded for each Key Aspect under four categories, viz. A, B, C and D, denoting: Very good, Good, Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory levels respectively. The summated score for all the Key Aspects under a Criterion is then calculated with the appropriate weightage applied to it and the GPA is worked out for the Criterion. The Cumulative GPA (CGPA), which gives the final Assessment Outcome, is then calculated from the seven GPAs pertaining to the seven criteria, after applying the prescribed weightage to each Criterion.

Criteria: NAAC scores are based on the following criteria

  1. Curricular Aspects
  2. Teaching-Learning and Evaluation
  3. Research, Consultancy and Extension
  4. Infrastructure and Learning Resources
  5. Student Support and Progression
  6. Governance, Leadership and Management
  7. Innovations and Best Practices
  8. Assessment Outcomes: There are two outcomes of Assessment and Accreditation:Peer Team Report
The qualitative part of the outcome is called Peer Team Report (PTR) which is an objective report prepared by the Team highlighting its evaluative judgements, mostly using precise keywords instead of long sentences.
Institutional Grading

The quantitative part of the outcome comprises the criterion-wise quality assessment, resulting in the final Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), a letter grade and a performance descriptor. The CGPA and letter grade constitute the certification by the NAAC on institutional accreditation.

Keshav Mahavidyalaya was given an Institutional Grade of A with CGPA 3.01 after the NAAC visit in 2016.

Click here for details NAAC